Why I Decided To Go Back To College At 21

It’s funny to think of my sixteen year old self. I had just graduated high school, and I went to college for the exact same reason everyone else goes to college here: Because it’s the logical next step. It’s what everyone else does. Because where would you be without a college education?

So I went to college. Knowing that I had a knick of writing and at that point, had been published in a few (online) magazines, I went into journalism. Looking back, I loved my degree and the school I went to. I’m happy I chose to follow my degree at an art school, because my college was very open, creative, and we got lots of space to work on projects with students who were in completely different courses than we were.

I learned a lot about myself in those years, and I remember how proud I was (and am!) for getting that diploma at the very end. But I also remember myself thinking: now what? 

I had a lot of questions about my life. Some of which are still unanswered. Did I want to get another degree and potentially even a masters degree? Did I want to work? Did I want to move abroad? In the next year to come, I started a communications degree and quit within two months. Some people might see that as giving up easily, but in that short period of time I already knew I didn’t care about the degree course or the diploma, so why not quit then? At least I didn’t have to pay an entire year’s worth of tuition. I don’t see starting and quitting that degree as a mistake now, because it helped me to get to know myself better.

The Reason Why

After quitting the communications degree, I spent most of the year working, and also went to the United States for three months. It was a year of self-discovery for me. Looking back, I deeply needed that time to decide what I wanted to do. Who I wanted to be. What I my true motivation is. Not some external factor making me decide what’s best for anyone but myself, but really reflecting on my own personality and listening to my own mind. I realized that I had avoided the conversation with myself. I had avoided my true thoughts, because I was scared of the truth.

Now I’m going to college to become a social worker. I want to become a forensic social worker, which is related to criminal justice and correctional systems. It’s a completely different path than my previous degree, which is one of the reasons I’m so excited about it. In the past year, I’ve come to the realization that going to college is the best option for me now. Pursuing another degree in an unrelated field will not only broaden my perspective, it will also help me grow as a person. I’m eager to learn, to grow and to become a better version of myself. So I’ll be able to help others in the best possible way.

5 thoughts on “Why I Decided To Go Back To College At 21

  1. I loved this post. I really enjoy hearing people’s reasons for starting and also for not finishing courses, as I do think that some paths are not for everyone and I really appreciate the bravery it can take to admit it.
    Your current course sounds really interesting, and your long term plan sounds so fascinating! Good luck with it all, I think you’re going to be brilliant!
    Beth x

    Like

  2. I’m so proud of you Dalindcy. It’s hard to reflect on yourself at times and it’s easy to not think about that or the future to come, but you did it and I’m so proud of you. In my opinion, I think you have everything what it takes to be a social worker and your enthusiasm for starting this new degree is inspiring and motivating.

    It’s amazing that you have truly found what you want to do and that the drive to do what you do, comes from within. It makes you stronger, just like the strong person you are! Good luck with everything 🙂

    Marc

    Like

What's on your mind? :)

